I can't mix, but...

Started by Drarok, March 18, 2009, 06:56:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Drarok

... here's a track I've had lying about in various states for years. I can't get it to sound how I want, though.

It's certainly not proggy, but I'm sure we can overlook that! ¬_¬

Click: Anyone

A little info:
Drums are Drumkit from Hell samples from ToonTrack, triggered by hand on my MIDI keyboard, then quantised and re-laid out in places. I'm going to borrow my mate's MIDI drums in future.
All guitars are real (as it's my main "proper" instrument; Drums don't count ;))
Bass is me, my bassist mate said he can put a proper bassline to it.
Strings and that are from Apple's Logic Express 8.

The question is: what's wrong with it? The acoustic sounds weedy for a start, no matter what I try. What else? Be gentle. And tell me how to fix it, not just that it's broken. :)

Enjoy! :?:

Bokkie

Nice work.
First of all i'm not an expert, but maybe you could make some room in your sound. I hear a guitar together with a lead guitar right in the middle(same frequencies). I think if you gave the rhythm guitar more room(semi stereo or panning) that would do a lot for your lead guitar(or vica versa). And maybe you could try to make your drumsound more traditional. Bassdrum and snare in the middle(no stereo effect) and toms and cymbals panning.

But hey..who am i

Like to hear the result of your struggle ;)
If wishes where horses, we\'re all been eating steak.

johninblack

Yep, I agree with Bokkie. The guitars just don't compliment each other, rather they sound like they are trying to outdo each other, I'm sure that could be easily overcome with a bit of heavy eq'ing and making sure they are panned away from each other. As for Bokkies suggestions on the traditional approach to the panning I think that is what most people expect to hear and to hear different confuses them.