Main Menu

Roland D-50

Started by E.S., January 15, 2011, 06:44:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

E.S.

So, I'm getting one tomorrow for next to nothing. I've always wanted one, I think it's the coolest of the 80's synths.

But, my fellow D-50 owners, because there must be some of you here... does anyone know of any collections of sysex files for it? I knew a guy years ago who had one, and he had thousands of patches for it, lots of classic stuff. I have tens of thousands for the DX7/FM7, so I guess there must be an equal collection out there.

rogerg

lucky guy!!  

I had the choice when I bought my first real synth (1988) between that and the Ensoniq SQ80.  I chose the SQ80 because of the built-in sequencer, but I did over the years wish I had that D50 sound...

David

I just have D-110 : cheaper rack alternative, not even a keyboard  :D
But it sounds cool 80-ish, though.

Mooncat

Snap, I too have the D110, and I'm a drummer!!!!!

(It does make a nice clunk when I hit it tho'............................)
One of the brave Defenders of the Realm - Lydney, October 2010
Statistically, 6 out of 7 dwarfs are not happy

E.S.

A rack unit would be perfect for me, but I just can't miss this one. Picking it up today.

There's something nice about buying new synths, it always results in new riffs and songs. Instant inspiration. Can't wait to start programming.  :D

Againesis

Quote from: "Mooncat"Snap, I too have the D110, and I'm a drummer!!!!!

(It does make a nice clunk when I hit it tho'............................)
:lol:
There are only 10 types of people]

Dave R

Quote from: "E.S."So, I'm getting one tomorrow for next to nothing. I've always wanted one, I think it's the coolest of the 80's synths.